Parklaan 46 B-2300 Turnhout, Belgium   +32 14 720275


New 6-Day Visa-Free Policy to Go Into Effect This Week

The Ministry of Public Security announced yesterday (26.01) that a new visa-free policy will go into effect this week. As of January 30, Shanghai and the provinces of Jiangsu and Zhejiang will begin offering 144-hour visa-free transit services.

Travelers entering the country via Shanghai's two airports, Nanjing Lukou International Airport and Hangzhou Xiaoshan International Airport, will be able to move freely through Shanghai and its neighboring provinces for up to 6 days without a visa. The Ministry of Public Security hopes the extension of the previous 72-hour visa-free transit policy will benefit both business and tourism in the Yangtze River Delta.

Since 2013, foreign visitors could stay for a period of 72 hours without a visa in the cities of Shanghai, Hangzhou and Nanjing, but only if they entered via one of its airports. Now, the scope of the visa-free policy will see significant expansion with respect to time, space and entry points. With the new policy, foreigners in transit will be allowed to stay for 144 hours, furthermore, not only will they be free to travel through the entire Yangtze River Delta region, but they will also be able to enter the country via ports and railway stations.

However, 144-hour visa-free transit will only be granted to foreigners from 51 countries: Belgium, Netherlands, the United Kingdom, France, Germany, the United States, Japan, Russia, Brazil, etc.


Source: The Ministry of Public Security of the People's Republic of China

< back to overview